The View 2016

22nd Annual The View Juried Landscape Exhibition

Keith Thue, Overlook, 2015, oil and cold wax

May 31 – July 8, 2016

Reception: Thursday, June 2, 6 – 8pm

The View is a juried exhibition for artists living in Ohio and working in all media. This year, 86 artists submitted 241 pieces, from which the juror, Katherine Ryckman Siegwarth, Kettering Exhibition Coordinator and Curatorial Associate at The Dayton Art Institute, chose 40 artworks representing 39 artists. Siegwarth also selected the winners of awards totaling $1,100.

Juror Katherine Ryckman Siegwarth is the Kettering Exhibition Coordinator and Curatorial Associate at The Dayton Art Institute. Prior to The DAI, Siegwarth served as Assistant Director to Zhulong Gallery (Dallas, TX) and was the Luce Curatorial Fellow for the photography department at the Amon Carter Museum of American Art (Fort Worth, TX). She has also worked at the Center for Creative Photography (Tucson, AZ) and the Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art. Siegwarth received a Master of Arts in Art History at The University of Arizona, specializing in the history of photography and museum studies.

Siegwarth wrote, “We strive for elegance, a way to seduce the viewer to stay just a moment longer, a moment we hope will take the viewer’s breath away, even for just one fraction of a nanosecond. Such is the life of an artist.”

Participating artists include A. Joseph Barrish, S.M., Jessica Beirise, John Benvenuto, Joletta Breland, Matthew Burgy, Virginia Burroughs, Mary Callaway, Bruce Campbell, Tom Croce, Jane Dippold, Diane Dover, Phillip Erbaugh, Peg Faimon, Douglas R. Fiely, Bill Franz, Stephen Goettsch, Kay Hissong, Kelly Joslin, Craig Lloyd, Richard Malogorski, Whitney Manfreda, Claire Moreland, Walt Murch, Stuart Pearl, Linda Phillips, Alice Robrish, Rose Schultz, Aaron Smith, Ashley Speelman, Jerry Spohr, Andrea Starkey, Sharon Stolzenberger, Barb Stork, Doug Taylor, Keith Thue, Mary Beth Whitley, Leonard Williams, Jim Witmer, and Brian Zimerle.

Siegwarth also selected the winners of awards totaling $1,100:

Best of Show: Alice Robrish of Yellow Springs for her sculpture Vision – Ghost of Matthew Shepard

1st Place: Andrea Starkey of Bellbrook for her woodblock reduction print Snow Day

2nd Place: Brian Zimerle of Oakwood for his ceramic piece titled Rise Like Brume #1

3rd Place: Craig Lloyd of Cincinnati for his painting Row

Close window